South Wales Institute of Engineers Educational Trust

Menelaus Medal

Menelaus Medal of the Learned Society of Wales is sponsored by the South Wales Institute of Engineers Educational Trust.

The Medal is awarded for excellence in any field of engineering and technology to an academic, industrial researcher, or industrial practitioner, who has a particular connection with Wales, such as being of Welsh birth or resident in Wales. 

Following nominations by Fellows of the Learned Society of Wales, the recipient of each year’s Medal is selected by a committee with representatives of the Learned Society of Wales and SWIEET.

The Medal is named after the engineer, iron and steel manufacturer and general manager of the Dowlais Iron Company, William Menelaus (1818-82), who founded the South Wales Institute of Engineers in 1857.

The Medalists

2020        Professor Nidal Hilal, Chair in Water Processing Engineering, Swansea University
2019        Professor Roger Owen FREng FRS FLSW, Professor of Engineering, Swansea University

2018         Not Awarded

2017         Professor Graham Hutchings FLSW 

2016         Professor Hagan Bayley FLSW FRS

2015         Sir John Meurig Thomas DSc ScD MAE HonFRSE HonFREng FLSW FRS

2014         Sir John Cadogan CBE DSc FRSE FRSC MAE FLSW FRS

2013         Sir Terry Matthews Kt OBE PEng FIEE FREng